> Regions > Naples

I Will Have Vengeance (Commissario Ricciardi #1)

by Maurizio De Giovanni

Fans of Donna Leon and Manuel Vázquez Montalbán will thrill to this fresh voice in crime fiction. I Will Have Vengeance is the first book in a long series of masterful crime novels set in fascist Italy. Naples, March 1931: a bitter wind stalks the city streets, and murder lies at its chill heart. When the world’s greatest tenor, Maestro Arnaldo Vezzi, is found brutally murdered in his dressing room at Naples’ San Carlo Theatre, the enigmatic and aloof Commissario Ricciardi is called in to investigate. Arrogant and bad-tempered, Vezzi was adored by millions and hated by hundreds, but with the livelihoods of everyone at the San Carlo opera at stake, who there would have committed such an act? Ricciardi is determined to find out. Ricciardi has visions. He sees and hears the final seconds in the lives of victims of violent deaths. It is both a gift and a curse. It has helped him become one of the most acute and successful homicide detectives in the Naples police force. But all that horror and suffering has hollowed him out emotionally. He drinks and doesn’t sleep. Other than his loyal partner Brigadier Maione he has no friends.

Blood Curse (Commissario Ricciardi #2)

by Maurizio De Giovanni

Murder suspects abound in this atmospheric thriller set in Naples in 1931. Commissario Ricciardi, one of the most original and intriguing investigators in contemporary crime fiction, will have his work cut out for him. In a working class apartment in the Sanità neighborhood an elderly woman by the name of Carmela Calise has been beaten to death. When Ricciardi and Maione arrive at the scene they start asking the neighbors questions. No one wants to talk but slowly a few interesting facts slip out. Carmela Calise was moonlighting as a fortuneteller and moneylender. In her decrepit apartment she would receive clients, among them some of the city’s rich and powerful, predicting their futures in such a way as to manipulate and deceive. If economic ruin lurked in their futures, Calise was happy to help. For a price, of course. She had many enemies, those indebted to her, manipulated by her lies, disappointed by her prophesies or destroyed by her machinations.

Made in Naples & the Amalfi Coast: A Travel Guide To Cameos, Capodimonte, Coral Jewelry, Inlay, Limoncello, Maiolica, Nativities Papier-mâché, & More (Laura Morelli’s Authentic Arts)

by Laura Morelli

Don’t buy anything in Naples, Italy or the Amalfi Coast until you read this book! Every trip needs a souvenir. When you encounter limoncello, handmade cameos, or the famous nativity scenes of Naples, you’ll be tempted to take a part of this beautiful place home with you. But how do you know if you’re buying something authentic or falling prey to one of the region’s many tourist traps? Author and art historian Laura Morelli, a trusted guide in the world of cultural travel and authentic shopping, is here to help. In Made in Naples and the Amalfi Coast, Morelli leads you through the region’s most authentic arts, teaching you the difference between authentic master artisans and the knock-offs, and making you every tourist trap’s worst nightmare: an educated buyer. Join Laura Morelli on a journey beyond the souvenir shops into an immersive cultural experience you won’t find in any other guidebook. In this book, you’ll discover practical tips for locating the most authentic goods in Naples & the Amalfi Coast, useful information on pricing, quality, and value, a brief history of Neapolitan art, and much, much more! If you like fascinating historical tidbits, comprehensive resources, and an immersive experience into the history of Italian art, then you’ll love this fluidly written book. Bring it alongside more traditional guidebooks on your vacation and you’ll be sure to come back with the best of Italy…without getting ripped off!

Omega Plague: Collapse

by P.R. Principe

An airborne strain of the AIDS virus decimates humanity. Bruno Ricasso, an Italian cop, a Carabiniere, struggles to survive on the island of Capri while Europe erupts in flames and society crumbles. But when his solitary existence is broken, Bruno returns to the empty city of Naples in search of answers. Can Bruno find a way to stay alive in the ruins of civilization? Or will Bruno’s past sins prove even more deadly than the Omega Plague?

Gomorrah: A Personal Journey into the Violent International Empire of Naples’ Organized Crime System

by Roberto Saviano, Virginia Jewiss (Translator)

A groundbreaking, unprecedented bestseller in Italy, Roberto Saviano’s insider account traces the decline of the city of Naples under the rule of the Camorra, an organized crime network more powerful and violent than the Mafia. The Camorra is an elaborate, international system dealing in drugs, high fashion, construction, and toxic waste, and its influence has entirely transformed life in Campania, the province surrounding Naples. Since seeing his first murder victim, at 13, Roberto Saviano has watched the changes in his home city. For Gomorrah, he disappeared into the Camorra and witnessed at close range its audacious, sophisticated, and far-reaching corruption that has paralyzed his home city and introduced the world to a new breed of organized crime.

The Novice

by Mirella Sichirollo Patzer

In 10th-century Naples, Saracens run rampant, annihilating villages, murdering women and children. Death and despair is everywhere. Alone in the world, Sara is a young novice plagued with doubts about taking her final vows to become a nun. When her convent is attacked, she flees for her life straight into the arms of a group of Saracens who leave her to die alone in the woods. An honorable cavaliere named Nicolo comes to her rescue and offers to take her to the safety of Naples. As they journey together, they are irresistibly drawn to each other. Believing Sara to be a nun, the honorable Nicolo is torn between love and duty to respect her vows. Heartbroken, he does what honor demands and sets her free before she can tell him the truth that she is not a nun. In her search to reunite with Nicolo, she encounters Umberto, a dark and dangerous man who will stop at nothing in his obsession to possess her. With her sharp intellect, and her heart, Sara must rely on her own courage and strength to escape her abuser and find the only man she will ever love. A story that burns with intensity, intrigue, and passion from the author of the highly successful novel, Orphan of the Olive Tree.

The Witch of Napoli

by Michael Schmicker

Italy 1899: Fiery-tempered, seductive medium Alessandra Poverelli levitates a table at a Spiritualist séance in Naples. A reporter photographs the miracle, and wealthy, skeptical, Jewish psychiatrist Camillo Lombardi arrives in Naples to investigate. When she materializes the ghost of his dead mother, he risks his reputation and fortune to finance a tour of the Continent, challenging the scientific and academic elite of Europe to test Alessandra’s mysterious powers. She will help him rewrite Science. His fee will help her escape her sadistic husband Pigotti and start a new life in Rome. Newspapers across Europe trumpet her Cinderella story and baffling successes, and the public demands to know – does the “Queen of Spirits” really have supernatural powers?

Swimming in the Moon: A Novel

by Pamela Schoenewaldt

Lucia D’Angelo and her mother Teresa work as servants at a quiet seaside villa in Naples until Teresa’s eruptive temper costs them their jobs and forces them to flee to America in Schoenewaldt’s touching second novel. Arriving in Cleveland in 1904, Lucia and her mother struggle to get by in their new lives, living in close quarters with other immigrants, working long hours in poor conditions for little pay. While Lucia quickly picks up English and begins to excel in school, her mother continues acting out at her factory job, threatening their livelihood and Lucia’s dreams of attending college. Evoking the challenges new immigrants faced in early 20th-century America, Schoenewaldt illustrates Lucia’s poignant struggle between her ambitions and her loyalty to her mother with striking verisimilitude. Once news of New York’s Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire reaches Cleveland, Lucia realizes her own neighbors deserve better treatment and helps lead a strike against the city’s factory owners. A rich cast of characters and a timeless story of family strife bring life to this thoughtful and emotional historical fiction.

Close to Paradise: The Gardens of Naples, Capri and the Amalfi Coast

by Robert I. C. Fisher

This book showcases 21 of the most celebrated gardens in Italy’s most glamorous seaside getaway. They include La Reggia of Caserta, the ‘Italian Versailles’ laid out for the Bourbon King Charles III in the mid-18th century; the gardens of the Villa San Michele on Capri; and Lord Grimthorpe’s Villa Cimbrone in Ravello, with its breathtaking panoramas. The text also traces the horticultural history of Campania, from Roman emperors to Edwardian millionaires, encompassing a parade of glamorous characters that includes Lord Byron, Wagner, Chanel, Jacqueline Kennedy, D.H. Lawrence, Virginia Woolf and Graham Greene.

The Bourbons of Naples: (1734-1825) (Prion Lost Treasures)

by Harold Acton

A classic of European history, long out of print, written by a celebrated aesthete and historian. Before the unification of Italy in 1870, Naples was the capital of the largest of the separate Italian kingdoms. Ruled for more than 100 years by the Bourbons, one of the most eccentric and pleasure-seeking of European dynasties, Naples attracted aristocratic travelers by the hundreds; it also attracted the armies of revolutionary France. Sir Harold Acton, who had unique access to state and private archives, wrote The Bourbons of Naples over 40 years ago. Teeming with unforgettable characters, royal eccentrics, court intrigue, and the vivid events of 18th-century Italy, it is a masterpiece of modern historical writing.